Languages: Add information about writing language localizations
authorMichal Novotny <minovotn@redhat.com>
Sat, 4 Aug 2012 10:21:47 +0000 (12:21 +0200)
committerMichal Novotny <minovotn@redhat.com>
Mon, 6 Aug 2012 07:32:36 +0000 (09:32 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Michal Novotny <mignov@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Michal Novotny <minovotn@redhat.com>

README

diff --git a/README b/README
index 27ba198..839c1ae 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -6,6 +6,25 @@ It depends on libvirt PHP bindings as the module for PHP. You can use
 the tool to manage your virtual guests you're having available on your
 libvirt connection(s).
 
+LANGUAGE LOCALIZATIONS
+----------------------
+
+If you're a developer and you're adding a new functionality with new
+strings you should use $lang->get($ident) functions instead of coding
+in strings directly. The $ident argument is being used as a key of
+the array available in the classes/language.php, method initlang(),
+which is the default if language cannot match the ACCEPT_LANGUAGE
+HTTP header or $trans array in files of lang directory.
+
+The automatic language is being determined from the HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE
+variable - the first entry from there before the dash ('-') is being
+used. The system is looking for a file named as $thisPart.php in the
+lang directory and uses the default from Languages class if it cannot
+be found. E.g. for English browser settings the first token is usually
+en-US, so the part before dash character is 'en' so this is looking for 
+lang/en.php etc.
+
+The language can be changed using the Settings link after you log in.
 
 LICENSES
 --------